You are here: Home - About Us

Record a Sighting

About Us

Cavan County Heritage Office

Heritage Council

The Heritage Council part funds the network of 28 City/County Heritage Officers in Local Authorities across the country.  The Heritage Council’s vision is that the value of our heritage is enjoyed, managed and protected for the vital contribution that it makes to our identity, well-being and future. 

The guiding principle of Cavan County Heritage Office is to ensure that “the unique and diverse heritage of County Cavan is conserved, sustained and, above all, cherished and celebrated by the people of the County”

This will be achieved through the following aims:

  • Cavan County Heritage Office will conserve, protect and manage heritage throughout County Cavan;
  • To sustain the rich and diverse heritage of County Cavan for present and future generations;
  • To enable the people of County Cavan to cherish and celebrate their heritage
  • To ensure that heritage related matters are communicated effectively to all sectors


Cavan Heritage Forum members

Cavan County Heritage Forum was established in June 2005. The members are made up of representatives from statutory, local government, local developers, landowners, community and voulintary sectors.


Local Government Sector 

Cllr John O' Hare Member of Cavan County Council
Cllr. Niamh Smith Member of Cavan County Council
Eve Harrison Executive Planner, Cavan County Council
Colm O'Callaghan Senior Executive Engineer, Cavan County Council
Catriona O'Reilly Arts Officer, Cavan County Council
Josephine Brady County Librarian/Archivist
Savina Donohoe Cavan County Museum
Ann-Marie Ward Heritage Officer, Cavan County Council


Education Sector 

Patrick Cassidy Cavan Institute
Iognáid Ó Muircheartaigh Ciorcal Comhrá
Fidelma Sheridan Irish National Teachers Organisation


Land Owners and Farming Representatives 

Elizabeth Orminston Irish Farmers Association


State Agencies 

Michael Hackett National Parks and Wildlife Service
Noel Mc Glown Eastern Regional Fisheries Board
Brenda Montgomery Shannon Regional Fisheries Board
Patricia Mc Creesh Northern Regional Fisheries Board


Community and Voluntary Sector 

Chris Kirk Community and Voluntary Forum
Danielle Wilson Higgins Community and Voluntary Forum


Local Development 

Peter Pollock Cavan Monaghan Rural Development Ltd.


Heritage Groups 

Mary Sullivan Cavan Genealogical Centre
Róisín Lyons Cumman Seanchais Bhréifne
Charles O' Reilly Laragh Heritage Group
Maura Smyth Bailieborough Arts and Cultural Centre
Bríd O' Reilly Ballyconnell Heritage Group
John Kevin Smith Lough an Leigh Environmental Group



© Cavan County Council